Drivers put it all on the line for championship night

With a lot still on the line in most classes, championship night at the Estevan Motor Speedway was full of drivers in all four classes looking to make their presence known Saturday night.

But one class - the sport modifieds - had only one winner in all of its races, that being Minot’s Robby Rosselli. He beat Rylan Reynard by 35 points to claim the first sport mods title at EMS, 226 to 191.

article continues below

Leevi Runge won the hobby stocks class with a solid race Saturday. He hit victory lane twice during the season, although the night’s race belonged to first time winner Kruz Wilson. Runge finished in the top five in each of the nine races of the year, a stunning bit of consistency.

Jeremy Swanson, meanwhile, went into the final night with a slim lead in points in the street stock car race on Cody Nelson but Swanson blew his engine in the heat race. He came out for the feature race in Dan Blackburn’s car, as it’s the driver collecting the points and not the car, and was able to hold off Nelson to claim a narrow win, 326 to 322 in points. Joren Boyce and Devon Gonas finished tied for third with 316 points each. Saturday, Austin Daae won the race – his third win of the year, by edging Gonas.

Despite not winning a race all year, Chris Hortness won the modifieds class by 21 points over Tyler Wagner, 327-306. Tyson Turnbull took the checkered flag after getting flagged for coming up too quick on the pack when the green flag flew.

The junior slingshots class was won by Ryder Raynard, who finished the season with 337 points to second place Ty Saxon’s 332 points.

The next race at EMS will be the annual Enduro Race Sept. 15. Race awards banquet night will be Nov. 3. 

© Reston Recorder

Read more from the Estevan Mercury

Popular Reston News

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.